Restore File from OneDrive

Step-by-Step

Restore from Local Recycle Bin/Trash

If you deleted a file from your OneDrive Sync folder (rather than going to the cloud to delete the file), which then synced that deletion to the cloud, you can recover that file by opening your local recycle bin/trash can and restoring that file from there. 

Recover a Previous Version

If you overwrote a file and you want to get back to the previous version:

  1. Log into o365.dartmouth.edu with your NetID and password.
  2. From the tiles that appear, click OneDrive.
  3. Place a check in from of the file for which you want to restore a previous version, then click the ellipsis icon (three dots) from the menu bar, then Version history.
  4. Click the date on the line of the version you want to restore, then click Restore.

Recover a Deleted File

If you have deleted a file from your OneDrive store that you now need, follow the steps below to restore it to your computer.

  1. Log into o365.dartmouth.edu with your NetID and password.
  2.  From the tiles that appear, click OneDrive.
  3. Place a check in front of the folder for which you want to restore a previous version, then click Recycle Bin from the left hand navigation column.
  4. Click the line of the file you want to restore, then click Restore from the menu bar.

Restore to a Previous Time

See https://support.office.com/en-us/article/restore-your-onedrive-fa231298-759d-41cf-bcd0-25ac53eb8a15

Tip: If you're using OneDrive with your personal account, you can select Restore all items to restore everything in your recycle bin. This option isn't available in your work or school OneDrive.

Notes: 

  • If you're signed into OneDrive with a Microsoft account, items in the recycle bin are automatically deleted 30 days after they're put there. If your recycle bin is full, the oldest items will be automatically deleted after three days.

  • If you're signed in with a work or school account, items in the recycle bin are automatically deleted after 93 days, unless the administrator has changed the setting. See more information about how long deleted items are kept for work or school accounts.

 

Details

Article ID: 67000
Created
Fri 11/9/18 2:27 PM
Modified
Mon 9/9/19 5:02 PM