Retention Policies

Email Retention

Messages deleted from an email account are retrievable for up to 30 days after the Deleted Items folder (trash) has been emptied. Users can do this themselves using the Outlook for Windows or Macintosh clients, or the https://bwa.dartmouth.edu web interface. After 30 days, these messages cannot be retrieved.

Any message in any Dartmouth account will remain in the account until it is deleted by the user, until the expiration date of the message (set by the individual user) has passed, or 30 days after the account has expired.

Server Log Retention

Logs on the central name servers, the email servers, the WebAuth server, and the network address translation logs are purged after 14 days. Backup copies of these logs are not maintained beyond 14 days.

Details

Article ID: 63666
Created
Tue 10/9/18 11:33 AM
Modified
Wed 8/7/19 11:40 AM