Zoom Service Updates

Please be sure to update to Zoom's latest release to take advantage of new Zoom features. We also encourage you to subscribe to Zoom's Blog for more information and resources.

Contents

4/27/20  5.0 Client Update Summary

For more information on our latest enhancements, please reference and subscribe to our Release Notes


On May 30th, 2020, Zoom will enable GCM encryption across the entire Zoom platform, providing increased protection for meeting data. After May 30, 2020, all Zoom clients on older versions will receive a forced upgrade when trying to join meetings as GCM Encryption will be fully enabled across the Zoom platform. Please begin updating all your clients to Zoom 5.0 now.


Report a User Feature: Meeting hosts and co-hosts can report a user in their meeting who is misusing the Zoom platform. Found in the Security icon, the option sends a report to Zoom’s Trust & Safety team for review. The report can include a specific offense, description, and optional screenshot. The Report a User function is on by default but can be turned off at the account, group, and user level in the Zoom web portal.


Leaving/Ending Meeting Enhancements: With this new UI update, hosts can clearly decide between ending or leaving a meeting. If the host leaves, they can now easily select a new host and have the confidence that the right person is left with host privileges. The host will now be required to assign a new host when leaving the meeting. Additionally, the pop-up message asking if the host would like to leave or end the meeting will now be displayed by the Leave button. 


Setting to Allow Sharing of Cloud Recordings: Account owners and admins can enable or disable shared cloud recordings to prevent users from sharing their cloud recordings. This setting is available for individual recordings and at the account, group, and user level and can be locked at the group or account level. 


Add Expiration Date for Shared Cloud Recordings: Users can now choose to expire the link for a cloud recording after a set number of days or on a custom date. This setting is available for individual recordings and at the account, group, and user level and can be locked at the group or account level. 


Minimum Password Length of 6 Characters for Meeting and Shared Recording Passwords: The minimum password length for both meeting and shared recording passwords will now be 6 characters. 


Profile Picture Control: Account admins and hosts can disable the ability for participants to show their profile picture and also prevent them from changing it in a meeting.


Show the Connected Data Center: Users can see which data center they are connected to by clicking on by clicking on the info icon at the top left of the client window.


Select Data Center Regions when Scheduling a Meeting: Users can now select which data center regions they would like their in meeting traffic to use when scheduling a meeting.

 

4/13/20  4.6.11 Client Update Summary

As part of Zoom's 90-day plan and commitment to its customers, Zoom is regularly updating its service. Summary of current release changes is provided, below.  Please also see Release Notes.

Configure meeting and webinar password requirements

  • Account owners and admins can now configure minimum meeting password requirements, including a minimum length, requiring letters, numbers, special characters, or only allowing numeric passwords. Past meetings scheduled with passwords will not be impacted. 

Meeting IDs up to 11 digits in length

  • One-time random meetings IDs for newly scheduled meetings and webinars can now be up to 11 digits long. Your Personal Meeting ID (PMI) will remain the same and already scheduled meetings will not be impacted. 

Password for Cloud Recordings 

  • We updated password guidelines for hosts when sharing their cloud recordings for meetings and webinars.  Default will now be ON, and require a complex password to access a shared recording. Existing shared recordings will not be impacted. 

Re-enable Third-party File Sharing

  • We have restored the functionality to share files from third-party platforms, such as Dropbox or OneDrive if configured for their Zoom account, for users on version 4.6.11.

Performance Tuning for Dashboard Data

  • Fixed performance issues related to missing data and delay on dashboard and reporting. We will continue to make improvements to this area. 

App Version

  • App version is accurately reflected in all areas. 

Message Preview Control (Only Applicable to Zoom Chat Users)

  • Users can enable or disable a setting to show a message preview for chat messages.

4/9/20  4.6.10 Client Release

Summary below.  See also full Release Notes

Security Toolbar Icon for Hosts

  • The meeting host will now have a Security option in their meeting controls, which exposes all of Zoom’s existing in-meeting security controls one place. This includes locking the meeting, enabling Waiting Room, and more. Users can also now enable Waiting Room in a meeting, even if the feature was not turned on before the start of the meeting. For more information, please visit this recently published Blog.

Invite Button on Meeting Client Toolbar

  • The button to invite others to join your Zoom meeting is now available at the bottom of the Participants panel

Meeting ID No Longer Displayed

  • The meeting ID will no longer be displayed in the title bar of the Zoom meeting window. The meeting ID can be found by clicking on Participants, then Invite or by clicking on the info icon at the top left of the client window.

Remove Attendee Attention Tracking Feature

  • Zoom has removed the attendee attention tracker feature as part of our commitment to the security and privacy of our customers. For more background on this change and how we are pivoting during these unprecedented times, please see a note from our CEO, Eric S. Yuan 

Removal of the Facebook SDK in our iOS client 

  • We have reconfigured the feature so that users will still be able to log in with Facebook via their browser

File Transfers

  • The option to do third-party file transfers in Meeting and Chat was temporarily disabled. Local file transfer is available with our latest release. Third-party file transfers and clickable URLs in meeting chat will be added back in an upcoming release

New Join Flow for the Web client

  • By default, users will now need to sign in to their Zoom account or create a Zoom account when joining a meeting with the Web client. This can be disabled by the Admin or the User from their settings page

Join Before Host Emails Disabled

  • Notifications sent to the host via email when participants are waiting for the host to join the meeting have been disabled.

Setting to Allow Participants to Rename Themselves

  • Account admins and hosts can now disable the ability for participants to rename themselves in any meeting. This setting is available at the account, group, and user level in the Web portal.

Language for Directory and Company Directory (please note, this does not impact your account)

  • The language in your Company directory and Directory has changed. ‘Directory’ is now referred to as ‘Contacts’, ‘My Groups’ has changed to ‘My Contacts’, and ‘Company Directory’ is now listed as ‘All Contacts’ in version 4.6.10.

Domain Contacts Visibility (please note, this does not impact your account)

  • For free Basic and single licensed Pro accounts with unmanaged domains, contacts in the same domain will no longer be visible. We’ve also removed the option to auto-populate your Contacts list with users from the same domain. If you would like to keep those contacts, you can add them as External Contacts.

3/26/20  Screen Sharing Defaults to Host Only

Summary below.  The full notice may be viewed here.

From Zoom:

On March 26, 2020, Zoom released an update to the default screen sharing settings for Education accounts, in an effort to increase security and privacy for meetings. This update changed the default sharing setting to “Host Only” at the account level. This setting gives hosts the sole permission to share content within their meetings by default.  Hosts still have the ability to allow participants to share their screen during a meeting and edit their default settings to allow participants to share in all meetings. Account owners and admins can also re-enable this setting for their account or individual groups.

From Dartmouth ITC:

While this default setting can be reversed, we recommend retaining it and developing the practice of enabling participant sharing during the meeting.  We are regularly reviewing ways to safeguard your Zoom experience and will advise, in advance whenever possible, of changes made on your behalf.

Here's where this setting may be found in the host's Zoom console for adjusting during a meeting:

Details

Article ID: 105063
Created
Fri 4/10/20 8:50 AM
Modified
Tue 6/16/20 12:00 PM